Fab Friday with Author Danielle DeVor!

Danielle DeVor Interview picture 26th July

The wonderful author of ‘Tail of the Devil.’
Danielle DeVor.

RWM – “Hello Danielle, it’s a pleasure to meet you today and take an opportunity to talk to you about your work, so can you tell me what your current genre is? What made you chose this subject?”
DD – “YA Fantasy. I’ve always been interested in fantasy and horror. I was the kid reading Stephen King when I was eight, that type of thing.” 
RWM – “Ha-ha must admit to enjoying some of Stephen Kings work myself. Do you have a current book or piece of work you wish to talk about?”
DD – “Tail of the Devil is about a street kid who gets turned into a vampire only to discover that he is the reincarnation of a long lost vampire king.”
RWM – “Wow that sounds like something that as a vampire fan I would love to take a look at, can I ask who your favourite author is? Can you recommend one of their books?”
DD – “Gosh, this is a hard question. Right now, Richard Matheson comes to mind. He recently passed away. My favourite book is his is I Am Legend.”
RWM – “Ah yes, the acclaimed SF novel about vampires. According to Amazon the story is about the last man on earth but he is not alone . . . Robert Neville is the last living man on Earth . . . Every other man, woman and child on the planet has become a vampire, and they are hungry for Neville’s blood.
By day he is the hunter, stalking the un-dead through the ruins of civilisation. By night, he barricades himself in his home and prays for the dawn. I can only think that the Will Smith film is based on the book. So back to you, how long have you been writing?”
DD – “I started with poetry when I was a child. Had my first poem published when I was thirteen, so roughly 25 years. Though I didn’t start writing prose until about 7 years ago.”
RWM – “Wow, a child writing poetry, that’s so wonderful, can you tell me if you have any pet hates?”
DD – “Lateness. I am an early bird, so if someone is meeting me for something, and doesn’t have a good reason for being late, it drives me crazy.”
RWM –“Yes I am a bit of a stickler for time as well; it can get a little obsessive. Tell me a quality you really like about yourself?”
DD – “I’m not easily rattled.”
RWM – “That’s a really good way to be Danielle; I wish I could be the same. What do you hope to achieve in your life, from your writing?”
DD – “I would eventually like to buy my parents a house- this, of course, would be if I would suddenly take off like a rocket. For now, though, I would like to save enough from my writing to take a nice vacation.”
RWM – “Please Danielle could you take some time to sell your book! Can you tell the readers what your favourite work is? What is its link so people can buy it? Tell me about it and why you believe people should buy it?
DD – “Tail of the Devil
http://www.amazon.com/Tail-of-the-Devil-ebook/dp/B00CJHO7D8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1367324817&sr=8-1&keywords=tail+of+the+devil
If Mathias thought being homeless sucked, being a vampire is worse. The vampires who transformed him believe he is the reincarnation of an ancient king. They expect him to quit swearing, use a napkin, and play by their weird, ancient rules. Screw that.
But after the reigning queen assaults Mathias, he has visions of a past life in which he was that king. Turns out the current queen killed him then, and wants to kill him again. He’d better grow up fast, because if he doesn’t his second life may be shorter than his first.
I think people will like this book because it isn’t the same old usual vampire book. I’ve put some unique things in here, and I hope people enjoy the story.”
RWM – “Thanks so much, now do you believe that big authors can charge too much for their eBooks?”
DD – “It’s not mostly big authors that charge too much, but their publishers. The big authors don’t set the prices of their books.”
RWM – “That’s a really good point, would you please tell me a little about yourself, what made you become an author and do you have a job besides writing?”
DD – “Everyone around me kept asking me when I was going to write a vampire book because I have studied vampires for years. Finally, an idea popped into my head that was a little unique, and I knew I finally had something I could work with. Six years later, I had a completed novel.
When I’m not writing, I teach a class that teaches people how to fit pointe shoes (the shoes ballerinas wear that allow then to stand on their toes).”
RWM – “Wonderful, that sounds fabulous. I would really like to say thanks so much to you Danielle; it has been such a pleasure to speak to you today. Can I wish you mush success for the future and I really hope you get you house for your parents.”

By Ruth Watson-Morris

One comment on “Fab Friday with Author Danielle DeVor!

Leave a Reply

