Fab Friday author Diane Major is in the house!

RWM – “Hello Diane, it’s so wonderful to have you here with us tonight, can you please tell me, what is your current genre? What made you chose this subject?”
DM – “My current genre is science fiction. All of my books are in the fantasy adventure field and when I began writing ‘A Very Complicated Molecule’ it started purely as fantasy adventure then as usual my original plot was overtaken by my imagination (I smile!)”
RWM – “Ha-ha, it’s unavoidable, but the Sci-Fi side of your work makes it all the more interesting, as one of your biggest fans, would you tell me what your current book or work is about?”
DM –“When a being wakes up with no knowledge of whom it is, where it is, or how it arrived at its destination, this story begins to unravel. This being has been an unfortunate victim of a gang incident in London and its lover hopes to save its life, but will they both have to pay a price…
The book is set in 2043 with a storyline that includes murder, love, a gang, aliens and the Police!”
RWM – “That is sounding a little different for you, can’t wait! Who is your favourite author? Can you recommend one of their books?”
DM – “Ouch! Now this is a difficult one. Never did quite get over Dean Koontz’s book ‘The Watchers’ and loved John Ajvide Lindqvist’s ‘Let the Right One In.’ To be honest I am more about single books than authors. More recently I have read a lot of Self Published books and regardless of what is said there are some brilliant stories, in reality no different to the good and bad books published traditionally. With that in mind here are a handful of very good self-published books out of the many I have read:
Everyone Burns by John Dolan http://www.amazon.co.uk/Everyone-Burns-ebook/dp/B008I6GXM2/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1373995624&sr=1-3&keywords=John+Dolan
The Last Sunset by Bob Atkinson http://www.amazon.co.uk/The-Last-Sunset-BobAtkinson/dp/1478162155/ref=sr_1_sc_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1373995678&sr=1-1-spell&keywords=the+last+sunse
Foxy Lady by Rags Daniels http://www.amazon.co.uk/Foxy-Lady-Rags-Daniels/dp/0957406738/ref=cm_cr-mr-img
Price of a Bounty by S L Wallace http://www.amazon.co.uk/Price-Bounty-S-L-Wallace/dp/1466268107/ref=cm_cr-mr-img
Like I say these are only a few of the many which includes your own ‘In Search of the Dragons.”
RWM – “Agreed there are a lot of fabulous new talent come into play now people have caught on to SP. Changing the subject a little now tell us, what is one of your pet hates?”
DM – “I hate being bored! Gotta keep busy!”
RWM – “Tell me a quality you really like about yourself?”
DM – “Ouch! Don’t like talking about myself. Probably my best quality is that I try to support people to progress and move on.”
RWM – “That I can definitely agree with, you have been a great support to me throughout my career as an author. What do you hope to achieve in your life, from your writing?”
DM – “That people can escape into one of my books for as long as it takes them to read one.”
RWM – “Sell your book!
What is your favourite work?”
DM – “Mmm probably ‘I am Nine’ although that is likely to be based on feedback.
http://viewbook.at/1467880876

As people across the world die from some incurable disease, Naomi a five year old girl who lives in England is torn from her parents. Naomi finds herself alone, growing up on a ship with strangers as she journeys across the sea into a new and very different future on the American coast. A future where a pack of great vicious dogs as well as cannibals roam the land…..

Rather than me trying to explain why this book is worth reading, suffice to say it is both my mother and eldest daughter’s favourite. This is the latest review:
I loved this book. ‘I am Nine’ is a dystopian novel, written in a simple, almost child-like voice, with very little dialogue. It is fast-paced and compelling. Unlike most kindle books I’ve read, I can honestly say I didn’t skim a single word. I was spellbound throughout, waiting to find out what would happen next as the young narrator, Naomi went from a happy, ordinary family life, to a post-apocalyptic’ world containing ferocious dogs and vicious cannibals. This is a great read, and I highly recommend it and look forward to reading more books by this author.”
RWM – “Do you believe that big authors can charge too much for their eBooks?”
DM – “Some do.”
RWM – Short answer but yes think that says it all really. Tell me a little about yourself, what made you become an author and do you have a job besides writing?”
DM – “As a child, I wanted to write books and actually did complete one. The adventure story filled a small notebook which I kept under my bed. My mother can still remember my efforts even though that work is long gone. As is the case for so many people, life became complicated and writing was added to my list of things to do. I never fulfilled my ambition until one day in 2009 I had an idea for a book. From 2009 I worked full time and wrote whenever the opportunity came along to do so. It took me two years to write, ‘Children of Fury’ and at the same completed, ‘I am Nine.” Both books were published in late 2011. Since then I have published several books for adults, young adults and children. My unpaid jobs now include, babysitting, walking dogs, gardening and fundraising for a local charity.”

RWM – “Thank you so much Diane for speaking to me, you really are a Fab Friday author, I am so pleased you took the time to be here.”

By Ruth Watson-Morris

3 comments on “Fab Friday author Diane Major is in the house!

Leave a Reply

