Meet Writer & Artist Shannon McRoberts in a very special FFA interview!

RWM – “Hello and Welcome to a Special interview with Author and Artist Shannon McRoberts.
As a really big fan of Shannon’s work I’d like to start by showing off some of her art work!

Fairy of Death

The artwork is digital and this is one of Shannon’s more recent pieces.
So Shannon can you talk a little about your books and tell me please what is your current genre? What made you chose this subject?”

SM – “I currently classify myself as “fantasy”, but I guess you could say speculative fiction would also fit. I chose this subject because I have always been drawn to fantasy. When I first started writing, I just wrote the story I wanted to tell and it turned out to be six books and counting long! It was only recently that I started having to “classify” my genre. I had trying to fit into a “genre”.”
RWM – “Yes sometimes it is difficult to put a label on what you write, I understand this very well. What is your current book or work about?”

SM – “My most recently published book is Verses of Athine: The Daughter of Ares Chronicles. My work in progress is Cursed Bloods, which is book 5 in the Daughter of Ares Chronicles. I also have an idea for book 6 and then a book that may be unrelated….I’m still churning that one out.”
Llosia – Daughter of Nikeda

RWM – “Wow you work really hard, who is your favourite author? Can you recommend one of their books?”

SM – “The author that got me reading on my own was Anne Rice. I would recommend The Vampire Chronicles. Interview with the Vampire, The Vampire Lestat, Queen of the Damned, Tale of the Body Thief, Armand, etc.”
RWM – “Yes I own a lot of Anne Rice myself, but I will have to admit after Interview with a Vampire I kinda got side tracked. How long have you been writing?”
SM – “I have been making stories, pictures, and books for “sale” since I was about 4 years old. I was required to write many things in school and college. At my day job I still have to do a lot of technical and medical writing. So, for the better part of 30 years ;-)”
Orb of Destiny

RWM – “Wow what an achievement, that’s wonderful. Writing since you were four what an intelligent little child. Can I ask you what is one of your pet hates?”

SM – “I have so many of them. Probably one I really don’t like is the word “your” being misspelled. Your welcome is NOT correct! It is you’re welcome…it’s a contraction LOL.”
RWM – “Ha-ha! That’s fabulous. I hope I never get it wrong. I am sure my editors will tell you that I do  Tell me a quality you really like about yourself?”

SM – “My artistic abilities….how else could I get away with being Artist, Author, Poet ”
I don’t think getting away with it is correct, you have a real talent much appreciated by many!”

My favourite piece

My favourite piece

RWM – “What do you hope to achieve in your life, from your writing?”

SM – “I am not sure. I just want to make a quality story that people will love. I have gotten 12 great reviews on Verses of Athine. The ride has been somewhat bumpy in the last year working towards the goal of the paper book, but after many edits and cover changes and dodging a few sock puppets I think it has turned out well.”

RWM – “Please will you take a little time to tell me about your book and where we can get it from?”

SM – “Verses of Athine: The Daughter of Ares Chronicles

Take what you know about mythology and throw it out the window….

Follow Athine as she tries to discover her destiny. Is it really her destiny or of someone else’s making?

(Better yet watch the book trailer!)

The book is an epic read at just under 97k words and it is the only way you can get books 2-4 in the Daughter of Ares Chronicles.

The easiest way to get my book is to go to http://www.shannonmcroberts.com and click on “author”. From there you can find the universal Amazon link and the Smashwords link.”
Obsidia

RWM – “Do you believe that big authors can charge too much for their eBooks?”
SM – “YES! I shouldn’t have to pay you 10 bucks for an eBook. I don’t care WHO you are. I don’t even want to pay 10 bucks for a digital music CD. However, you have to keep in mind the authors do not always set their prices. It is the publisher that sets most of them. The author sometimes gets next to no money. That is why I firmly believe in Indie Publishing!”

RWM – “Tell me a little about yourself, what made you become an author and do you have a job besides writing.”
SM – “I am married with a soon to be 5 year old daughter. I have always been attracted to fantasy and stories that focused on women leads. Red Sonja was my first “movie love”. I also loved She-Ra and Jem and the Holograms. I refused to watch Star Wars until my mother explained there was a princess in the movie with a gun. LOL. Later in life it was La Femme Nikita, Xena, and Lady Death, and Buffy. I am looking forward to more Game of Thrones, Elementary, Grimm, Vampire Diaries, The Originals, and about 20 other shows this season! I also belong to #teamvampire and have always been interested in Greek mythology.

When I met my husband, who was working at a comic shop I frequented, he introduced me to MMORPGs and D&D. It was later on that I got heavy into the RPG part of Guild Wars. I guess all this stuff percolated around in my head and I wrote a few “background” stories for my characters. My guild flipped over them. I thought then maybe I CAN write a book and dusted off the notes I had for The Secret of Genetic Corp X, which I had been secretly writing from time to time. Once I had it written I had the “author bug”. I am now up to my third poetry book and sixth prose book….the ideas keep coming!

Unfortunately, I do still have a day job. My husband is a stay at home dad while I go to my desk job every day and wish that I could be writing or making art instead of clicking away at boring government paperwork!

I would love to hear from you. Visit http://www.theobsidianpoet.com and http://www.shannonmcroberts.com to see my blog and main website. I also have a newsletter where I include interesting posts, poetry, and exclusive coupons!

That’s all so fabulous Shannon thank you so much for your interview and showing us all your work as a last treat here is my favourite a piece of art Shannon did for my book cover Sky. It’s my logo and I use it on all my business cards, she was named by Shannon ‘Lady with Dragon.’
lady with dragon by Shannon McRoberts

RWM – “Thanks so much for your hard work on my book covers and for your fabulous friendship, you truly are a Friday Fab Author! ♥”

By Ruth Watson-Morris

One comment on “Meet Writer & Artist Shannon McRoberts in a very special FFA interview!

Leave a Reply

