Hurray! Friday Fab author Selena Robins (Maddie Ryan) is here to talk of Romance books!

Selena Robins

Selena Robins

RWM – “Hello this wet UK morning and welcome at last to our Fab Friday Romance and children’s author Selena Robins (Maddie Ryan). I am so pleased to find you well and here today.
Can you please tell us a little about your current genre? What made you chose this subject?”

SR – “I write both adult fiction (romance) and children’s fiction (under the pen name of Maddie Ryan).
The romance genre is fun to read and write, because of the emotional kicks that are packed in the couple’s journey, and I also love escapism and happy ever after endings. I think happy ever after is a continuous journey, whereas the couple meets each milestone head one, either together or alone, but always with a positive attitude and looking forward to the next milestone. A good romance novel will have those elements, and the reader can finish the book, satisfied knowing that the characters are going to have this type of ending, which really is the beginning when the book ends.”

RWM – “That’s really interesting; it’s useful sometimes to have tips on how to write romance even if you don’t write in this subject area. What is your current book or work about?”

SR – “My current release is a romantic-comedy with a splash of suspense, lots of sexual tension, heat, fun, and a twist that readers don’t expect. It’s called WHAT A GIRL WANTS.”

RWM – “My daughter loves reading romantic comedy books, will make sure she knows about this one.  Who is your favourite author? Can you recommend one of their books?”

SR – “This is a tough question, as I have so many favourites. I do have an account on Goodreads and have a list of books I’ve thoroughly enjoyed from romance to mystery to non-fiction. I only review books I love, so it’s a good place to see my recommendations.”

RWM – “I do exactly the same, I do believe those who deserve it should always get good words spread about them, it’s the malicious idiots that troll their way through life that do my head in a bit. But if they have no life? LOL! How long have you been writing?

SR – “Like most authors, since I learned how to read.”

RWM – “Ha-ha, yep it seems to be the norm for authors to have been writing for a while. What is one of your pet hates?”

SR – “Stupidity.”

RWM – “To the point, there seems to be a lot of that about, but we all have our bad days. Some of it can be quite funny!  Tell me a quality you really like about yourself?”

SR – “My inner strength and sense of humour.”

RWM – “It’s good that you have such great flexibility in your life, you need it in this game. What do you hope to achieve in your life, from your writing?”

SR – “My hopes have never altered as they have always been for my family to be healthy, happy, and enjoy the blessings I am surrounded with and never take anything for granted.”

RWM – “That’s a great attitude to take towards life, I admire people who take care of their families as well as themselves, taking everything has it comes as a gift and not taking anything we have for granted. Please tell us about your book!”

SR – “Current release: WHAT A GIRL WANTS
Readers who want a thicker read in a romance, meaning a lot of story, plot twists, comedy, two fun and sexy characters, a witty heroine that isn’t afraid to go after what she wants, and a hero who is sexy, intelligent and has a lot of patience. (He has to have a lot of patience with this heroine and her antics). Readers who enjoy a slow burn with boat loads of sexual tension, the intense build up with a big pay off when the couple finally burn up the sheets.”

RWM – “Do you believe that big authors can charge too much for their eBooks?”

SR – “Authors who are contracted with a publisher do not have any input into the cost of their books.”

RWM – “Ha-ha – This can be true, unfortunately some of the bigger authors do, but you are right of course most don’t, so maybe the wording should be do publishers charge too much for their client’s books on Kindle and such? Whoops oh never mind, I am sure we can all see that some of them do. Tell me a little about yourself, what made you become an author and do you have a job besides writing?”

SR – “My passion is the love of God, family, friends, writing, reading and cooking. Embracing positive people and events, feeling grateful for the many blessings in my life.

My two mottos in life are: To strive to be a better person today than I was yesterday.

To not follow someone else’s path (especially if it’s already been beaten) and to follow my own, leaving a trail, making the journey fun-filled for myself and others.

I write books that I love to read, which is pretty eclectic. I’ve written short stories, children’s books and romance novels with sassy heroines and hot heroes (the ones your mamma warned you about, but secretly wished she’d dated a few in her life). My work has been described as genre-defying, witty, humorous, suspenseful, romantic and sexy.

I’m a self-professed chocolate guru. I love to dance with the family dog as if we were on the Jersey Shore and sing into my hairbrush. Passionately in love with my husband, family, friends, books, laughter, hockey, lively discussions and red wine (sometimes all at the same time).

After giving up my dream of becoming a movie star/dancer/singer, I decided that my second-in-line dream was to be a writer. Even if I never got published, I’d still want to write stories with fun characters and happy ever after endings.”

Links:

Website: https://selenarobins.com/

Blog: http://selenarobinsmusings.com/

RWM – “Thanks for meeting with me today Selena it has been such a pleasure to talk to you today. Glad we have finally had some time together, can I wish you huge success for the future and love and luck throughout your life. You really are an inspiration to others.” 

By Ruth Watson-Morris

10 comments on “Hurray! Friday Fab author Selena Robins (Maddie Ryan) is here to talk of Romance books!

Leave a Reply

