Welcome a slightly delayed FFA, Welcome to the house Andrea Barbosa writer of Massive Black Hole

A1 Andrea 18th Oct

RWM – “This Fantastic Friday author is the Sci-Fi author Andrea Barbosa who has wrote one of my favourite books this year Massive Black hole.
Hello Andrea, Hope you day has beengreat!”

AB – “Yes thanks, it’s good to be here.”

RWM – “What is your current genre? What made you chose this subject?

AB – “My current genre is sort of a surrealist fiction. I like books with a twist, some unexpected ending to make one think, and that’s how I ended up with this genre.”

RWM – “Agreed, you can’t beat an ending you aren’t expecting, so tell us what your current book is about?”

AB – “Massive Black Hole tells the story of 3very different women that became friends in their late teens while looking for their goal in life. A series of events and incidents prompt them to act out their different personalities, transforming their friendship in an unlikely way. The book touches on suicide, abortion, the meaning of life and the existence of hell.”

RWM – “That sounds absolutely brilliant! Who is your favourite author? Can you recommend one of their books?”

AB – “I have several favourite authors, and I will highlight Paulo Coelho here. Among his works, ‘Brida’ is one of my favourite”.

RWM – “Thanks for that recommendation Andrea. How long have you been writing?”

AB – “I actually started writing while I was a teenager, but never got to do it seriously or publish a book. I wrote several articles for yahoo contributor site, and also have a blog. A few years ago, one of my poems showed up in a collection of poems and I have also edited a book of poems by another writer.”

RWM – “I am starting to believe writers are born to be, so many tell me they wrote a lot as a child!  What is one of your pet hates?”

AB – “I may be guilty of it as well, but bad spelling is one of them (like when I read “I should of” instead of “I should have” really ticks me).”

RWM – “Ha-ha I definitely am, I have accents on most of my Voxian population and that could be the way I make them speak! LOL Tell me a quality you really like about yourself?”

AB – “My positive outlook in life. I’m a positive, optimist person (although this quality is not necessarily reflected in my writings – I don’t like to write sugary predictable happy endings!)”

RWM – “That’s a fabulous outlook to have, it’s good to be positive and agreed who need sugary endings, life isn’t always that predictable is it? What do you hope to achieve in your life, from your writing?”

AB – “I hope that I will develop into a better writer and influence people to be better themselves by reading tales that will make them think about life and their purpose.”

RWM – “Please tell us where we can get your book and a little about it?”

AB – “What is your favourite work? What is its link so people can buy it? Tell me about it and why you believe people should buy it?
Right now, Massive Black Hole is the only published work I have. I’m working on a short story book, and perhaps a poetry book, and I also have started on my next novel.
Massive Black Hole is a surreal type of fiction. If you like unexpected endings and are not looking for the happy ending love story, you will probably enjoy Massive Black Hole. The 3 characters are from different places (Rio de Janeiro, Houston and New York), and there are vivid descriptions of these great cities throughout the book, along with profound imagery of the characters’ dreams, fears and obsessions. The main characters are not heroes, on the contrary, they’re pretty much the bad ones. You will either love them or hate them, and that’s the purpose of the book, to mess with one’s emotions, to make you wonder if the surrealist hell that is presented in the book could be a possible outcome after death. It’s a very different concept, I believe. So, you have to read it to find out more and see it for yourself.”

Here are the links:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Massive-Black-Hole-Andrea-Barbosa/dp/148487532X/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1376442958&sr=8-1&keywords=massive+black+hole

http://www.amazon.com/Massive-Black-Hole-Andrea-Barbosa/dp/148487532X/ref=tmm_pap_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1376440564&sr=8-1

RWM – “Do you believe that big authors and publishers can charge too much for their eBooks?”

AB – “In the US, the price for a big author’s new release on hard cover is approximately $30.00 so they charge $12.99 for the eBook equivalent. I think it’s too pricey for an eBook.”

RWM – “Wow, that is an amazing price, especially if you know how much they cost to make! Tell me a little about yourself, what made you become an author and do you have a job besides writing?”

AB – “I was born in Brazil and there is where I developed my liking to books and writing. I’ve always loved reading and wanted to write my own characters from an early age, as I mentioned before. I graduated from the University in Rio de Janeiro with a B.A. in Tourism, and this led me to eventually leave Brazil, travel around and settle in the US where I’m living today. I currently work as a sales manager and interpreter/translator, besides being a full time mom and writer.”

RWM – “Well Andrea, it’s been an absolute pleasure talking to you today, I am so pleased to have met you and have enjoyed talking with you so much, will look forward to a new interview when you get your next work out. Can I please wish you love and luck for the future.
Thanks so much for being here today!

By Ruth Watson-Morris

Leave a Reply

